The University of Tennessee, Knoxville

College of Business Adminstration at the University of Tennessee Dreamweaver Templates. College of Business Administration at the University of Tennessee

Finance Department Advisory Council

The Finance Department Advisory Council offers the invaluable perspective of professionals in the business community to the department on the issues that we face in providing innovative leadership in financial education and practice to our students. The Advisory Council helps the department head and faculty to continue to improve the quality and reputation of the finance department. Ultimately, this will enhance each student’s development and experience in the undergraduate, MBA and doctoral programs.

The Advisory Council has three primary goals or objectives:

  1. to provide advice and counsel to the department’s faculty and department head;
  2. to assist the department in achieving its mission of creating and disseminating knowledge that is valued by students (and their recruiters), professional financial managers, financial policy-makers, and academic peers, and;
  3. to potentially assist the department in development activities and placement for its students.

Finance Department Advisory Council Members

John E Arnold, Jr Executive Chairman, SouthEast Bank
Julia Bentley  VP, Investor Relations/Communications, Vera Bradley
Jim Brogan  President and Founder of Brogan Financial Retirement and Legacy Planning 
Billy Carroll President & CEO, SmartBank
Larry Carroll President & CEO, Carroll Financial Associates
Daniel Carter  President and CAO, The Trust Company of Knoxville
Jim Duensing  EVP and CFO, Caterpillar Financial Services
Bruce Duggins  Senior Vice President, Regions Private Wealth Management
Rebecca Isbell Rouland Executive VP and CFO, Hancock Fabrics
Tiffany Gardner First Tennessee Bank, Senior Vice President, Manager Corporate/Commercial Banking
Bart L. Graham  CFO, Quest Capital Corp
Harry L. Gross, Jr.  President, Commercial Banking, SunTrust Banks, Inc.
George Hashbarger, Jr.  Chief Investment Officer, Quintium Advisors
Mike Masters  Founder and Managing Member, Masters Capital Management
Steve McBrayer CEO, H-E Parts International
Adam McClain Principal, President, Vulcan Value Partners
David Ownby  EVP and CFO, Regal Entertainment Group
Paul Perutelli Senior Managing Director, Integra Realty Resources - Nashville & E TN
Eric Schwarzentraub  Senior Vice President, Bank of America Merrill Lynch
Adam Smith  Vice President, Global Physical Trading & Risk Management, Alcoa
Mitchell Steenrod  CFO, Pilot Travel Centers, LLC
Joe E. Thompson, III  Managing Director, Raymond James
Frank Venable, III  Senior Vice President and Financial Advisor, Morgan Stanley 
William (Bill) Waltman, Jr. President, PYA Waltman Capital, LLC


Contact Us:

Tracie Woidtke, Head of Department of Finance
Haslam College of Business
427 Stokely Management Center
916 Volunteer Blvd
Knoxville, Tennessee 37996-0540
Phone: 865-974-3216
Fax: 865-974-1716

Department of Finance ~ 427 Stokely Management Center ~ 916 Volunteer Blvd ~ Knoxville, TN 37996-0540
Phone: 865-974-3216 ~ Fax: 865-974-1716 ~ E-Mail:


The University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Big Orange. Big Ideas.

Knoxville, Tennessee 37996 | 865-974-1000
The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System